NEWS: Beams release debut single from Just Rivers, announce Ontario tour dates

Press release provided by Pigeon Row 

Toronto-based indie folk septuplet Beams has released “Be My Brother, the debut single from their upcoming full-length album, Just Rivers.  The digital single also includes a cover of Portishead’s “Glory Box. The band will embark on an Ontario tour in its support.  Dates are as follows:
March 13 – Peterborough, ON @ The Spill (Matinee)
March 14 – Toronto, ON @ Magpie
March 23 – Toronto, ON @ The Silver Dollar (CMW)
March 28 – Oshawa, ON @ The Astria
April 20 – Toronto, ON @ The Silver Dollar w. William Tyler
April 27 – St. Catherine’s, ON @ Soil Fest

Produced by Peter J. Moore (creator of the Cowboy Junkies' infamous "Trinity Sessions" recording), Just Rivers overflows with the youthful abandon of its principal songwriter and lead singer, Anna Mérnieks. The band's lush vocal harmonies and layers of melody often belie the disquieting and sinister aspects of Anna's lyrics. Born of her personal life experiences, Anna uses her lyrics to explore concepts of community and familial relationships--taking the listener's hand and leading them down a rabbit hole that continues to prove that you don't need to scream to yell nor have the amps turned up to eleven to rattle your core.

Love and friendship are prevalent and poignant themes throughout Just Rivers. No wonder, then, that the band also includes Anna's long-time partner Mike Duffield on drums; or that the roster is rounded out by long-time friends Heather Mazhar (vocals), Keith Hamilton (musical saw), Dave Hamilton (mandolin), Craig Moffatt (bass), and Martin Crawford (lap steel), some of whom were members of Torontonians acts such as the Hamilton Trading Co. and The Diableros.
The unconventional instrumentation lends itself to the subject matter well, which means that Just Rivers is both old and new; comfortable and unspoiled. 

FacebookTwitter | Bandcamp

Beams - Just Rivers 
(available May 14, 2013)
 01. Be My Brother
 02. Sun Wraps 'Round
 03. How Wonderful
 04. Lets Not Keep It Open
 05. Picture This
 06. White Belly
 07. I'm Not Human
 08. Glory Box
 09. What Would You Say
 10. Too Much Fun
 11. Where Our Cabin Lies
 12. End of the Bear


No comments: