NEWS:Nova Scotians take home 24 of the 33 ECMA Awards

There were 99 nominations for Nova Scotians for the 2012 East Coast Music Awards (ECMA), so it was no surprise that 24 of the 33 ECMAs awarded throughout the weekend in Charlottetown went to Nova Scotians. Music Nova Scotia, beaming with pride, would like to congratulate all of the 2012 nominees and winners from all four provinces.
Here is a complete list of the 2012 ECMA award winners (Nova Scotians bolded):
African-Canadian Recording of the Year - Ghettochild, In the Making
Album of the Year - Hey Rosetta!, Seeds
Audio Professional of the Year - Dale Murray
Blues Recording of the Year - Matt Andersen, Coal Mining Blues
Children’s Recording of the Year - Keith Mullins/Thom Swift/Steven Bowers, The Wood Buffalo Youth Song Project
Classical Recording of the Year - Scott MacMillan, Within Sight of Shore
Country Recording of the Year - Gordie Sampson, Almost Beautiful
DVD of the Year: Scott MacMillan, “Within Sight of Shore” directed by Ian MacMillan
Entertainer of the Year - Blou
Event/Venue of the Year - The Carleton Music Bar and Grill
Fans' Choice Video Award - Jimmy Rankin, Here in My Heart
Folk Recording of the Year - Catherine MacLellan, Silhouette
Francophone Recording - George Belliveau, Whisky Amer
Gospel Recording of the Year - Mike Biggar, The Season
Graphic/Media Artist of the Year- Chris Smith
Group recording of the Year -  Hey Rosetta!, Seeds
Jazz Recording of the Year - Gypsophilia, Constellation
Loud Recording of the Year - Shelter With Thieves, Someday Is Never Soon Enough
Management/Manager of the Year -  Forward Music Group
Media Outlet/Contributor of the Year - The East Coast Countdown
Pop Recording of the Year -  Ria Mae, Under Your Skin
Rap/Hip-Hop Recording of the Year - Classified, The Day Doesn't Die
Retail/Company of the Year - GroundSwell Music
Rising Star Award - Carmen Townsend, Waitin' & Seein'
Rock Recording of the Year - The Trews, Hope & Ruin
Roots/Traditional Group Recording of the Year - Rawlins Cross, Heart Head Hands
Roots/Traditional Solo Recording of the Year - Kim Stockwood, Back to the Water
Solo Recording of the Year - Matt Andersen, Coal Mining Blues
Song of the Year - David Myles, Simple Pleasures
Songwriter of the Year - David Myles, Simple Pleasures
Volunteer of the Year – Pam and Alan Samson
World Recording of the Year - Keith Mullins, Localmotive Farm


No comments: