NEWS: Writers' Strike release Stay Down on November 22th 2011

After several months of refining and recording new material, Writers' Strike resurface with their new EP, Stay Down on November 22, 2011.

Writers' Strike is a band that believes in Bruce Springsteen anthems and Beach Boys' harmonies. Indebted to middle-class roots rock and clever melodies, Stay Down encapsulates their high-spirited, gang-vocal-laden brand of East Coast indie-pop.

Whether it’s the retro-inspired immediacy of “New York City,” the soaring vocals of “Splitting Images,” or the biting honesty of the EP’s title track, this three-song sampler is just a slice of Writers’ Strike’s pop-rock precision.

Stemming from sessions at the legendary Sonic Temple recording studio, Stay Down captures the multifaceted talents of the Halifax-based band showcasing one song from each of the Writers’ Strike’s songsmiths – Darryl Smith, Conor Hancey and Matt Davidson. Rounded out by synth player Amy Bollivar and drummer Tynan Dunfield, the songs on this free digital EP are a sneak peak at material the band will be releasing on a full-length record in the Spring of 2012.

After a showcase at Nova Scotia Music Week, Writers’ Strike will release the EP’s title track on a split seven-inch with Rich Aucoin. In addition to the group regularly touring with Aucoin, Darryl Smith has been a member of his band for the past several years.

In early 2012, Writers’ Strike will embark on an Eastern Canadian tour in support of their new releases where they will preview even more material from their debut full-length album.

WritersStrike-StayDown by Noisography


No comments: